Hannah Silva’s Forms Of Protest

Originally posted on Tears in the Fence:

Sound poet and playwright, Hannah Silva’s long awaited debut collection, Forms Of Protest (Penned in the Margins 2013), admirably illustrates the variety of her poetry. Her range encompasses sonic repetition, sonnet, collage, monologue, list, SMS messaging symbols, and probing text and is never predictable. There is a great sense of musicality and of contemporary language use. Indeed my sixth-form students love her work both on the page and read aloud.  One of our favourites, ‘Gaddafi, Gaddafi, Gaddafi’, echoes childhood playground chants, and works through its long, flowing, circular lines, as if on a loop, as much as the repetition of the word Gaddafi.

 

I am going to tell you my name Gaddafi but I am

Going to tell you my age Gaddafi my age is ten

Gaddafi and I am going to tell you about a game

Gaddafi a game that I play Gaddafi I play with my

Friends…

View original 280 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Opposition, Poetry, Tears in the Fence, Uncategorized

One response to “Hannah Silva’s Forms Of Protest

  1. p.s A very belated correction which I’m sure matters to no one but me… the opening line of Gaddafi is ‘I am not going to tell you my name…’

Leave a Reply

